Poem to Debbie

“But I’m afraid”, she said!

“Your words have filled my mind with questions.. Dark questions.. Now like a child I need light.. Light to sleep.. Light to keep the dark things under the bed.”

“How could you share those thoughts with me?”

“Those dark thoughts.. Those things to fear…”

“Now like a child of two… I sleep with night light bright… “

But then I had to share my thoughts of lights and night and fearful things….

”While the night light works dear, while it works..

“But we know the how and the why of when it won’t.. And the darkness comes over everything.. And the quiet of our technology is deafening…”

“And then all is gone but the beginning again..”

Written and dedicated to a dear friend this 16th day of 2014 ~~ Frank Woodman Jr.

Leave a Reply

